You are here




Characteristics that underpin competent performance. Refer to the NMBA standards for practice for all nursing and midwifery professions.

Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia (2014) Nurse practitioner standards for practice                

Retrieved from

Australian and New Zealand Standard Classification of Occupations (ANZSCO) Code

A statistical classification designed by the Australian Bureau of Statistics that defines skill level and specialisation necessary to perform the tasks of a specific occupation.

Australian Bureau of Statistics (2009),  Australian and New Zealand Standard Classification of Occupations, First Edition, Revision 1

Retrieved from:

Australian Core Skills Framework (ACSF)

A tool which assists both specialist and non-specialist English language, literacy and numeracy practitioners to describe an individual’s performance in the five core skills of learning, reading, writing, oral communication and numeracy.

Department of Education (2019) Australian Core Skills Framework

Retrieved from:

Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER)

The organisation that undertakes development and provision of assessment and reporting tools and services for schools, universities, technical and further education institutes and registered training organisations, health professionals, employers and governments in Australia and internationally. ACER offers online assessment tools that are matched to the Australian Core Skills Framework and identify and measure an individual’s foundation skills levels in English language literacy and numeracy skills.

Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA)

The organisation responsible for the implementation of the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme across Australia. AHPRA supports the National Health Practitioner Boards in implementing the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme.  AHPRA manages the registration and renewal processes for registered health practitioners and students around Australia.

Australian Nursing and Midwifery Accreditation Council (ANMAC)

The independent accrediting authority for nursing and midwifery under the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme. In this role ANMAC is responsible for developing the content of accreditation standards and determining whether programs of study for nurses and midwives seeking to practice in Australia meet the required education standards.
ANMAC is the skills assessing authority for nurses and midwives wishing to migrate under the Australian Government's General Skilled Migration program.

Australian Nursing and Midwifery Council (ANMC)

Evolved into ANMAC following approval as the accrediting authority for nursing and midwifery. ANMC authored the original set of accreditation standards as well as the National Competency Standards for nursing and midwifery

Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF)

The national policy for regulated qualifications in Australian education and training. It incorporates the qualifications from each education and training sector into a single comprehensive national qualifications framework.

Australian Qualifications Framework Council (2013) Australian Qualifications Framework

Retrieved from:

Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) qualification

The result of an accredited complete program of learning leading to formal certification that a graduate has achieved learning outcomes as described in the AQF.

Australian Qualifications Framework Council (2013) Australian Qualifications Framework

Retrieved from:

Australian Skills Quality Authority (ASQA)

The national regulator for Australia’s vocational education and training sector. ASQA  regulates courses and training providers to ensure nationally approved quality standards are met.

Australian Skills Quality Authority

Retrieved from:


Our website uses third party cookies, you may need to allow these on your browser to complete your application.

We also recommended using Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox to complete your application.